The 17th Annual Online Film Critics Society Awards 2013

Having brought our award schedule forward by a month, for the second time this year I report to you the awards handed out by the Online Film Critics Society. This year’s vote didn’t always proceed under ideal circumstances, as many of us had no chance to see some high-profile end-of-year films that have become major award favourites elsewhere, including
The Wolf of Wall Street, All is Lost, and American Hustle, and I myself mysteriously had no opportunity to view some films that sufficient numbers of others got to see for those films to be nominated (Her, Inside Llewyn Davis). Nonetheless, out of an interesting and diverse array of nominated films, the big winner this year was 12 Years a Slave, and I can offer no complaints about that. The spread went thus:

The Online Film Critics Society 2013 Film Awards Winners

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave
Best Animated Feature: The Wind Rises
Best Film Not in the English Language: Blue Is the Warmest Color
Best Documentary: The Act of Killing
Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity
Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Best Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Best Original Screenplay: Her
Best Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave
Best Editing: Gravity
Best Cinematography: Gravity

Special Awards:
Best Sound Design and Best Visual Effects to Gravity
To Roger Ebert, for inspiring so many of our members

Popular posts from this blog

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018)

150 Greatest Action-Adventure Films

Mission: Impossible - Fallout (2018)